Faculty Awards

Teaching and Advising Awards

The recipients of the Teaching, Advising, and Service Awards are selected by the Faculty Awards Committee from a pool of candidates nominated by campus community members. The Committee considers the persuasiveness and strength of the nomination rationale as well as the number of nominations received for each candidate. General information about each award is below, click on the name of the award for more detailed information including award amounts and a list of previous recipients.
The Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award (biennial)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Faculty must be at least half-time permanent, have served in such a capacity at Arcadia for each of the preceding three years, and is an especially effective classroom teacher.
  • Nominations: Solicited from students early in the spring semester (usually by February 28)
The Provost Award for Outstanding Advising and Mentoring (annual)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Full-time faculty who provide exceptional advising and/or mentoring to students
  • Nominations: Solicited from students and faculty early in the spring semester (usually by February 28)
Adjunct Faculty Award (annual)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Adjunct Faculty who are especially effective classroom teachers
  • Nominations: Solicited from students, faculty, and staff early in the spring semester (usually by February 28)
Professor of the Year Award (annual)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Full-time faculty who through their outstanding teaching skills, affect the lives and careers of students and contribute to the overall welfare of our society.
  • Nominations: solicited from full-time faculty in the spring semester (usually by March 31)
Lloyd M. Abernethy Outstanding Service Award (bi-annual)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Full-time faculty or professional librarian who has distinguished him/her/their self through an exceptional record of service to Arcadia
  • Nominations: Solicited from the entire campus community in the spring semester (usually by March 31).
Michael L. Berger Faculty Scholars and Artists Prize (bi-annual)
  • Eligibility/Criteria: Full-time faculty member whose scholarly and artistic work(s) is/are judged to evidence groundbreaking thinking or creative activity that contributes in a significant and innovative manner to knowledge or artistic expression in the recipient’s discipline
  • Nominations: Solicited from faculty members in the spring semester (usually by March 31)

Scholarly and Research Awards

These awards promote research by faculty and students by providing funds in support of scholarly projects. Faculty apply for these awards by submitting a project proposal that includes a rationale for the contemplated activity, a statement of the significance of the work, and a detailed budget. General information is below. Click on each award for more detailed information including proposal details, award amounts, and a history of past recipients and their projects.
The Jackson International Fund for Student and Faculty Development (annual)
  • Eligibility: Full-time faculty. The proposal usually includes an international experience that takes place in the following fiscal year.
  • Proposals: Solicited in the fall (usually by October 31)

NOTE: The Jackson International Fund also supports international experiences of Graduate and Undergraduate students. Proposals are solicited in the fall for students traveling in the following fiscal year. More information on the Graduate student award can be found here and information for the Undergraduate award can be found here.

Ellington Beavers Fund for Intellectual Inquiry (annual)
  • Eligibility: Full-time faculty who are expected to return to Arcadia for at least the subsequent two years. Proposals should include the project’s impact on the education of our students and may include students as researchers or assistants on the project
  • Proposals: Solicited in the spring (usually by March 31)

NOTE: The Beavers Fund for Intellectual Inquiry also supports research projects of students. Faculty nominate students who are planning to carry out projects of substantial intellectual inquiry under their supervision. Nominations are requested by February 28. An invite then goes out to the nominating student asking him/her/them to submit a proposal by March 31. More information and a history of past student recipients is here.

Thomas Dougherty Endowed Faculty-Student Research Award (annual)
  • Eligibility: Junior faculty member in the sciences, with preference given to work in the disciplines of chemistry and physics. Due consideration is given to proposals that actively involve one or more students in the research process.
  • Proposals: Solicited in the spring (usually by March 31)

Professorships and Fellowships

Professorships and Fellowships are held by faculty for a longer period of time, usually two or three years, after which the chair or fellowship passes to a different faculty member. Award amounts and criteria vary but most require a presentation of the project to the Arcadia community. Basic information is below, click on each award for more detailed information and a list of past recipients.

Frank and Evelyn Steinbrucker Endowed Chair (2 years)
  • Eligibility: Tenured, senior member of the faculty. While all disciplines are eligible, preference is given to an associate or full professor working in the social sciences, arts, or humanities, broadly defined.
  • Proposals: Solicited every other spring (usually by March 31)
Norman Johnston Faculty Fellowship in the Humanities and Social Sciences (2 years)
  • Eligibility: Full-time faculty whose research is in the Humanities and Social Sciences regardless of the faculty member’s area of appointment.
  • Proposals: Solicited every other spring (usually by March 31)
Rosemary and Walter Blankley Endowed Chair in Education (3 years)
  • Eligibility: Full-time, tenured, faculty members in the School of Education whose proposed project enhances the instruction and learning experienced by the students in the School of Education
  • Proposals: Solicited by the Chair of the School of Education every third spring.